Time for Chimera to grow up

Chimera isn’t all it is cracked up to be.

Recently there has been a lot of fuss over David Hyatt‘s latest vaporware project. So what if it is the fastest browser on the Mac. Have you used a Mac lately? It is still extremely slow! The way I see it, the only thing it has going for it is the fact that it looks like an OS X application.

I recently tried out versions 0.2.7 and 0.2.8. The startup time, while faster than Mozilla, is about 4 seconds slower than Internet Explorer.

Since Chimera uses Gecko, webpage layout works fine. However, after using the browser for a little while, I noticed some basic features were missing. Here is a short list of things that I ran in to while running.

major problems:
I was unable to download files using Chimera. This alone stopped me from being able to use the browser.
When using the “smooth text” option, which is on by default, the browser renders pages much slower. I don’t understand why this is on by default. You also have to reset the preference every time you start the browser because it is not saved.
While sitting idle, in the background, Chimera would go from using 0% CPU to nearly 100% causing my system to slow down greatly.

minor problems:
Scrolling is jerky. Unfortunately, it is also like this in IE and Mozilla. I suppose this is a problem with Mac OS X?
No “Home” button on the toolbar.
I was unable to locate a place to set my home page.

We should remember that the current versions of Chimera are very early releases and future versions promise to contain many new features. It is worth checking out, but I wouldn’t recommend using it until they fix things like file download.

Leave a Reply

