The End

As many of you probably have heard, there were big layoffs at AOL on Tuesday. My whole team, those working on the Netscape browser, and I were laid off along with many other browser engineers. A sad day for some, a happy day for others. The end of the Netscape browser. This day had been coming for quite some time and I don’t think many people were suprised by it. The only real suprise to me was that the layoffs were project based and not performance based. A lot of great people lost their jobs and I really hope they are able to find new jobs they loved as much as they loved Netscape. While I’m sad to leave behind the place I spent so much time over the last 4 years, I am ready to move on and find a place where I can really make a difference.

7 thoughts on “The End

  1. Christine

    Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

    You know Pav, when I read the news I thought of you. I just remember saying “nawwwwww I’m sure he wasn’t laid off” but ohhh I’m sorry to hear that you were. I wish you the best in wherever you may go or whatever you may do. Remember that we’re here if you ever need Sim or I for anything.

    Reply
  2. Stuart Parmenter

    I’ll continue to contribute. I’ll remain the module owner of the things I’m module owner of and continue to contribute. The project I had been working on for the last 7 months was open sourced last week on Mozilla.org and I expect to be working on that a bit. I’ll be posting more info on the project in the coming days.

    Reply
  3. Spike

    Pav
    I first became interested in Mozilla when I watched Code Rush and have been following progress and using the browse ever since. Sorry to hear about the end of this piece of techno history and wish you all the best for the future.
    Spike
    Australia

    Reply

Leave a Reply

