NYC

Day 5:
My feet are hurting quite a bit when I walk around, but I’m determined not to let that stop me. I headed over to Rockefeller Center where I stopped by outside The Today Show just long enough to get on camera as they were cutting to commercial (around 9:45 EST). I headed over to the subway station and took it up to 80th and walked over to the Metropolitan Museum of Art. That is one big museum. I checked out various exhibits including an Arms and Armor one I enjoyed a lot. I had lunch at the Met in a seriously over-priced cafe looking out in to Central Park. After looking around for a bit longer, I left and headed up a few blocks to the Guggenheim Museum. The building, a Frank Lloyd Write work, is quite amazing itself. I enjoyed the Aztec Empire exhibit and the audio tour.

My left foot had been hurting pretty badly for a while, so I grabbed a cab and headed back to my hotel. I took a nap for an hour and then headed off to dinner. On my way, I headed over to the Golden Theater to pick my up my ticket for tonight’s showing of Avenue Q. After waiting in a short line, I walked over to Joe Allen’s pub on 46th where I had some great meatloaf with sautéed spinach and mashed potatoes and some excellent pumpkin cheesecake for dessert.

I still had about an hour and a half until the show started, so I walked over to the Virgin Megastore at Times Square and picked up the new Grand Theft Auto and a couple CDs. While I was there, Simple Plan was there signing copies of there new CD. Their music sounded familiar, but I couldn’t place it. After I left the store, I headed over to my hotel to drop off my purchases and then walked back to the theater and waited for the show. I didn’t really know what to expect going in to the show, but I had heard it had puppets.

Avenue Q is absolutely hilarious. The only way I can really describe it is Sesame Street gone totally wrong. It worked well with my sense of humor. I see how it won the Tony Award for Best Musical.

Before bed I picked up a ticket for tomorrow’s Lion King show.

Leave a Reply

